Board of Trustees

“In summary, to be a trustee means to be responsible and accountable for Calvin Theological Seminary. This trust requires people of conviction, dedication, vision, and selfless service.” —Calvin Theological Seminary Board of Trustees Handbook

The Board of Trustees of Calvin Theological Seminary is comprised of 16 regional representatives from the Christian Reformed Church in North America and three at-large representatives. Normally the board meets twice on campus during October and May as well as a February teleconference meeting within each academic year.

Calvin Seminary’s Board of Trustees meets three times each year to make governing decisions about the institution.

BOT group shot

Chair: Mr. Sid Jansma, Jr.
Vice Chair: Rev. Curt Walters
Secretary: Ms. Teresa Renkema

Region 1 (Classes British Columbia North-West and British Columbia South-East)
Mr. Victor Chen

Region 2 (Classes Alberta North, Alberta South/Saskatchewan and Lake Superior – Canadian congregations)
Mr. Frank Zee

Region 3 (Classes Eastern Canada, Quinte, and Toronto)
Rev. Daniel Brown

Region 4 (Classes Chatham, Hamilton, Huron, and Niagara)
Mr. Keith Oosthoek
Rev. Allen Kleine Deters

Region 5 (Classes Columbia, Pacific Northwest, and Yellowstone)
Pastor Sergio Castillo

Region 6 (Classes Central California, Great Los Angeles, California South and Pacific Hanmi)
Rev. Scott Elgersma

Region 7 (Classes Rocky Mountain, Red Mesa and Arizona)
Rev. John Dykhuis

Region 8 (Classes Heartland, Iakota, Lake Superior – U.S. Congregations, Minnkota, Northcentral Iowa, and Pella)
Dr. Karen De Mol
Rev. Timothy Ouwinga

Region 9 (Classes Illiana, Chicago South, Northern Illinois, and Wisconsin)
Rev. William Sytsma

Region 10 (Classes Georgetown, Holland, Kalamazoo, Muskegon, Northern Michigan, and Zeeland)
Dr. Susan Strikwerda

Region 11 (Classes Grand Rapids East, Grand Rapids North, Grand Rapids South, Grandville, Lake Erie, and Thornapple Valley)
Rev. Curt Walters
Ms. Teresa Renkema

Region 12 (Classes Atlantic Northeast, Hackensack, Hudson, and Southeast U.S.)
Mr. Henry Lane

Trustees at Large
Mr. Sidney Jansma Jr.
Ms. Heather Garretson
Dr. Yudha Thianto